Skip to Main

September 14, 2021

Rep. Bourdeaux Highlights Suwanee Small Business Owner During Committee Hearing

WASHINGTON — In observance of National Small Business Week, Congresswoman Carolyn Bourdeaux invited Gwinnett County small business owner Maurice Contreras to participate in a House Committee on Small Business hearing. As CEO and Founder of ​​Volcanica Coffee Company, Maurice Contreras shared his story of pursuing the American Dream while bringing a taste of his hometown to Georgia. 
“Coffee has always been in my blood and has been in our family for at least two generations, starting when my mother and grandfather would assist in harvesting the coffee beans high in the mountains of Costa Rica,” said Mr. Contreras. “Volcanica Coffee started out as a part-time side business, but we now operate a large coffee roasting plant near Atlanta, Georgia with 20 employees. It was not an overnight success, but it grew every year to the point that I could leave my corporate job and focus on growing the business full-time. I am very grateful for the opportunities that we have had here in the United States to be able to experience the American Dream. ” 
Congresswoman Carolyn Bourdeaux said, “I met Maurice during a manufacturers roundtable during the August district work period, and am extremely proud and grateful that he joined us today. Coffee drinking has been one of my key vices recently, making Volcanica Coffee a business that I deeply appreciate!”

Rep. Carolyn Bourdeaux lives with her family in Suwanee, Georgia, and represents Georgia’s 7th Congressional District in the 117th Congress. Carolyn is a strong advocate for affordable health care, and economic recovery that puts workers and small businesses first, and investing in her district’s world-class public education system and transportation infrastructure.
Georgia’s fast-changing 7th Congressional District includes portions of the northeast Atlanta metropolitan area, including portions of Forsyth and Gwinnett counties and cities Peachtree Corners, Berkeley Lake, Sugar Hill, Norcross, Cumming, Lawrenceville, Duluth, Snellville, Lilburn, Suwanee, Grayson, and Buford.