Skip to Main

August 25, 2021

Bourdeaux Votes To Pass Voting Rights Legislation

WASHINGTON — Today, United States Congresswoman Carolyn Bourdeaux (GA-07) voted to pass H.R. 4, the John R. Lewis Voting Rights Advancement Act. During her run for office, Congresswoman Bourdeaux vowed to advance this legislation, and quickly became an original cosponsor of the bill upon taking office. 

“The right to vote in America is fundamental to our democracy, but that sovereign responsibility has come under attack in states like Georgia where John Lewis fought against suppression for the duration of his career. Georgia has persistently attempted to diminish the power of the vote among minority communities, and we cannot give up the fight that John Lewis began. In voting to pass the John R. Lewis Voting Rights Advancement Act today, I reaffirm my commitment to ensuring that the right to vote is secured for all Georgians. Protecting access to the ballot box has been my top priority in Congress, and will remain my top priority until every voice is heard,” said Congresswoman Carolyn Bourdeaux.

Today’s vote to pass the John R. Lewis Voting Rights Advancement Act comes amid growing attempts to curtail voting rights in many states across the country, including in Georgia, which recently enacted SB 202. If passed by the Senate, H.R. 4 will restore key protections of the Voting Rights Act of 1965 (VRA) and protect voters from discrimination across the country, 


Rep. Carolyn Bourdeaux lives with her family in Suwanee, Georgia and represents Georgia’s 7th Congressional District in the 117th Congress. Carolyn is a strong advocate for affordable health care, an economic recovery that puts workers and small businesses first, and investing in her district’s world-class public education system and transportation infrastructure.  

Georgia’s fast-changing 7th Congressional District includes portions of the northeast Atlanta metropolitan area, including portions of Forsyth and Gwinnett counties and cities Peachtree Corners, Berkeley Lake, Sugar Hill, Norcross, Cumming, Lawrenceville, Duluth, Snellville, Lilburn, Suwanee, Grayson, and Buford