Skip to Main

June 09, 2021

Bourdeaux: “It’s Long Past Time For The State Of Georgia To Get The Department Of Labor In Order”

WASHINGTON — Following a letter from Department of Labor Acting Inspector General Larry Turner evaluating the administration of the COVID Relief Unemployment Insurance programs in 12 states, Congresswoman Carolyn Bourdeaux (GA-07) released the following statement. The Turner letter comes in response to a March letter led by Congresswoman Bourdeaux signed by the entire Georgia Democratic congressional delegation and calling for a comprehensive audit of the Georgia Department of Labor (GDOL) unemployment insurance claims processing and payment system. 

“In their letter, the Office of the Inspector General (OIG) made clear what is already apparent to anyone watching and listening: the Georgia Department of Labor is an administrative mess and Georgians are paying the price. I have heard repeatedly from Georgians who lost their jobs, through no fault of their own, and then were unable to access the benefits they desperately needed to pay rent and put food on the table,” said Congresswoman Bourdeaux. “The OIG actually couldn’t fully evaluate what went wrong in Georgia because, unlike other states, Georgia was unable to provide basic data regarding the timeliness of benefits payments or the volume of claims for enhanced unemployment benefits programs. It’s long past time for the state of Georgia to get this department in order.”

As of May, the GDOL backlog was at around 80,000 Georgians.

*Read the Office of the Inspector General’s Report Here*


Rep. Carolyn Bourdeaux lives with her family in Suwanee, Georgia and represents Georgia’s 7th Congressional District in the 117th Congress. Carolyn is a strong advocate for affordable health care, an economic recovery that puts workers and small businesses first, and investing in her district’s world-class public education system and transportation infrastructure. 

Georgia’s fast-changing 7th Congressional District includes portions of the northeast Atlanta metropolitan area, including portions of Forsyth and Gwinnett counties and cities Peachtree Corners, Berkeley Lake, Sugar Hill, Norcross, Cumming, Lawrenceville, Duluth, Snellville, Lilburn, Suwanee, Grayson, and Buford