Skip to Main

May 19, 2021

Bipartisan Bourdeaux Resolution Condemning Atlanta Shootings Passes House

WASHINGTON — Today, the United States House of Representatives passed the bipartisan H.Res. 275, a resolution authored by United States Congresswoman Carolyn Bourdeaux (GA-07) and Congressional Asian Pacific American Caucus Chair Judy Chu (CA-27) that condemns the March 16, 2021, shootings in Atlanta and reaffirms the commitment of the federal government to combat hate, bigotry, and violence against the AAPI community. H.Res. 275 previously passed the Senate on April 29. 

Passage of the resolution comes the same week as the House passed the bipartisan COVID-19 Hate Crimes Act, separate legislation strengthening efforts to crack down on hate crimes, by expediting reporting and providing support for law enforcement agencies to respond to hate crimes. President Biden is expected to sign the COVID-19 Hate Crimes Act later this week. 

“I am proud that our bipartisan resolution condemning anti-AAPI hate and the heinous March shootings in Atlanta passed the House of Representatives today,” said Congresswoman Bourdeaux. “We all have different stories, but together, we are one united nation. An attack on any one individual community is an attack on all communities. While Atlanta continues to mourn for the lives lost, we know that if we stand together, our light can never be dimmed.”

The names of those murdered in the Atlanta shootings on March 16 are: Delaina Ashley Yaun, Paul Andre Michels, Xiaojie Tan, Daoyou Feng, Hyun Jung Grant, Suncha Kim, Soon Chung Park, and Yong Ae Yue.


Rep. Carolyn Bourdeaux lives with her family in Suwanee, Georgia and represents Georgia’s 7th Congressional District in the 117th Congress. Carolyn is a strong advocate for affordable health care, an economic recovery that puts workers and small businesses first, and investing in her district’s world-class public education system and transportation infrastructure. 

Georgia’s fast-changing 7th Congressional District includes portions of the northeast Atlanta metropolitan area, including portions of Forsyth and Gwinnett counties and cities Peachtree Corners, Berkeley Lake, Sugar Hill, Norcross, Cumming, Lawrenceville, Duluth, Snellville, Lilburn, Suwanee, Grayson, and Buford