Skip to Main

March 04, 2021

Rep. Bourdeaux Applauds House Passage of H.R. 1, For The People Act

WASHINGTON — Today, United States Congresswoman Carolyn Bourdeaux (GA-07) released the following statement after voting to pass H.R. 1, the For The People Act. This critical piece of legislation will end partisan gerrymandering, protect voting rights, and reduce the influence of special interest money in politics. Congresswoman Bourdeaux is a cosponsor of the For The People Act, and her amendment to protect absentee ballots and voter drop boxes was included in the final bill.

Today’s vote in favor of the For The People Act follows the Georgia General Assembly’s passage of partisan legislation earlier this week to severely curtail voting rights, including provisions limiting vote-by-mail and restricting drop box usage. Both chambers of the Georgia legislature are considering further measures to limit the ability to vote in Georgia.

“As a former professor of government and public policy, I was glad to cast a strong vote in favor of the For The People Act today,” said Congresswoman Bourdeaux. “State legislatures across the country, including Georgia’s, are making a concerted effort to roll back voting rights, and the For The People Act will put a stop to that. It requires non-partisan redistricting and helps break the grip of special interest money on politics. I am particularly pleased that my amendment protecting drop boxes and absentee voting was included in the For The People Act. I urge the Senate to swiftly pass this legislation and get it to President Biden for his signature.”


Rep. Carolyn Bourdeaux lives with her family in Suwanee, Georgia and represents Georgia’s 7th Congressional District in the 117th Congress. Carolyn is a strong advocate for affordable health care, an economic recovery that puts workers and small businesses first, and investing in her district’s world-class public education system and transportation infrastructure.

Georgia’s fast-changing 7th Congressional District includes portions of the northeast Atlanta metropolitan area, including portions of Forsyth and Gwinnett counties and cities Peachtree Corners, Berkeley Lake, Sugar Hill, Norcross, Cumming, Lawrenceville, Duluth, Snellville, Lilburn, Suwanee, Grayson, and Buford.