Skip to Main

February 25, 2021

Bourdeaux Statement On Teachers & Educational Support Staff Being Added To Vaccine Eligibility List

WASHINGTON — Today, United States Congresswoman Carolyn Bourdeaux (GA-07) released the following statement after Georgia Governor Brian Kemp announced that teachers and educational support staff are being made eligible to receive the COVID-19 vaccine.

This announcement comes after multiple requests from Congresswoman Bourdeaux to prioritize teacher and school safety, including a letter sent to President Biden in January, a letter sent to Governor Kemp in February, and remarks delivered earlier this week on the floor of the United States House of Representatives.

“While this should have been done earlier, I am glad that teachers and support staff will be added to the eligibility list for the COVID-19 vaccine,” said Congresswoman Bourdeaux. “Schools in Georgia are already open to in-person education and, given the lack of safe practices in our schools, teachers and support staff are risking their health and their lives every single day to teach our children. The vaccine is an important step, but I also urge Governor Kemp to ensure that all school districts are complying with basic CDC public safety guidelines, including mask-wearing on school grounds and maintaining appropriate social distancing. We owe our educators and support staff that basic public courtesy.”         


Rep. Carolyn Bourdeaux lives with her family in Suwanee, Georgia and represents Georgia’s 7th Congressional District in the 117th Congress. Carolyn is a strong advocate for affordable health care, an economic recovery that puts workers and small businesses first, and investing in her district’s world-class public education system and transportation infrastructure.

Georgia’s fast-changing 7th Congressional District includes portions of the northeast Atlanta metropolitan area, including portions of Forsyth and Gwinnett counties and cities Peachtree Corners, Berkeley Lake, Sugar Hill, Norcross, Cumming, Lawrenceville, Duluth, Snellville, Lilburn, Suwanee, Grayson, and Buford.